Maui County Council, Boy Scouts Of America
Scouting In Paradise


Order Of The Arrow

The Order of the Arrow (OA) is the scouting national honor society. It was founded in 1915 by E. Urner Goodman, a summer camp director. The OA was created to recognize those scouts who have exemplified the ideals of scouting.

Today, the OA works to promote service and campingamongst the Boy Scouts. It follows the three principles set by E. UrnerGoodman: Brotherhood, Cheerfulness, and Service.

There are several requirements for scouts to be accepted into the OA: 1) He must have attained at least the First Class rank.2) He must have participated in a minimum of fifteen nights of camping (including one six night extended camp out) in a two year period. 3) He must be elected by his fellow scouts. 4) He must participate in an ordeal, which is both a ceremony and a service project.

Troop 22 currently has four members in the OA. All hold the position of Ordeal member. Ordeal is the first level of membership. After Ordeal, comes Brotherhood, and then Vigil membership.

More About The Order of the Arrow...

OA logo

OA logo